Youth Commission

2018 Youth Commission Seeking New Youth Members for 2018-2020 Application Information

The Youth Commission is a nine member volunteer board, appointed by the Board of Selectmen to advocate for the needs of the youth and families of Westborough. It is composed of five adult members and four Youth Members.  Two youth members are appointed each year in the spring of their sophomore year to serve for their junior and senior years of high school.  Additional Youth Members may be appointed to serve as non-voting Associate Members.  

The Youth Commission created Westborough Youth and Family Services (WYFS) in 1984. Since that time, WYFS has provided mental health and substance abuse counseling, prevention and education programs, information about mental health and substance abuse issues, and referrals to appropriate service providers for the residents of Westborough. WYFS takes an active role in the coordination of mental health and social services for the town.

The Department is staffed by a full-time Director, two part-time Counselors, a part-time Administrative Assistant, and a summer Youth Activities Coordinator. The Youth Commission meets monthly with the WYFS Director to guide the direction of the Department. Meetings are usually the second Monday of each month, September through June, at 7:30 p.m. in the Youth and Family Services office, on the second floor of the Central One Federal Credit Union, 40 South Street.

Commission members commit to attending monthly meetings for about 1 to 1.5 hours, to discuss direction for the department. In addition, Members attended town meeting, and usually one Advisory Finance Committee meeting and one Selectman’s meeting during the budget season, in the spring or occasionally, as other meetings or projects arise.

Further information may be obtained by calling or emailing the Director, John Badenhausen.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
John Badenhausen Director (508) 366-3090 x5245

Commission Members

Name Title
Judith Tully Chair (2019)
Jennifer Lencioni Adult Member (2020)
Patricia Ainsleigh Adult Member (2018)
Tim Barton Adult Member (2020)
Lauren Schiffman Adult Member (2019)
Jayati Anand Youth Member (2018)
Sarah Whitaker Youth Member (2018)
Omar Siddiqui Youth Member (2019)
Emma Kudej Youth Member (2019)
Cassidy Sams Associate Member (2018)
Anoushka Batra Associate Member (2018)
Samantha Hogan Associate Member (2018)
Shayna Smith Associate Member (2018)
Janani Ram Associate Member (2018)
Amanda Pickwick Associate Member (2018)
Carol Liu Associate Member (2018)
Rhea Katoch Associate Member (2018)