Conservation Department


The Conservation Department is now using online permitting. If you would like to file a Wetland Permit please log into Permit Pro to start your application.

It is strongly encouraged to schedule a meeting with the Conservation Director prior to the submission of an application to review it for completeness. 

Open Hearings

Project Address
Filing Type
245 Turnpike RoadNotice of Intent
165 Flanders Road

Notice of Intent

Gables PondNotice of Intent

Mission Statement:

The Westborough Conservation Commission and staff work with landowners to administer and enforce state and local wetlands regulations. We are also responsible for natural resource management and protection, and are also actively engaged in land preservation efforts and environmental education.

The Duties/Scope of Your Committee:

The Conservation Commission administers its duties in accordance with the Conservation Commission Act (Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 8C). The Commission also administers the state Wetland Protection Act (Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 131, Section 40), and the Wetland Protection Act Regulations (310 CMR 10.00). The most recent version of the state regulations contain approximately 110 pages that the Commission and staff must interpret when applications are filed. The Conservation Commission also passed a local Wetlands Bylaw in 2008 and supporting Regulations in 2010, with revisions through May 8, 2012.

Under state and local statutes, individuals performing work within certain setbacks to wetland resource areas must file with the Commission through a public hearing. The Commission comments on the applications and a decision must be written in accordance with both state and local statutes. There are seven voting members and 2 non-voting associate members who may participate in all functions of the Commission except voting on actual motions. The Commission has a chairman who is responsible for running Commission meetings and participating in other formal meetings with other departments, and a vice chairman who takes the chairman’s place in his/her absence.

The Commission is the custodian of numerous land holdings in Town. These lands are set aside to be maintained as undeveloped land in perpetuity, and many are used for passive recreation. The Commission is responsible for the maintenance of these lands and for creating rules and regulations for the use and protection of such designated lands.

Commitment Level/Meeting Days and Times:

The Conservation Commission currently meets on the second Tuesday of every month, starting at 7:00 PM, at 45 West Main Street, in the third floor Conference Room, The Conservation Commission performs numerous additional public work sessions and/or hearings and conducts site walks. The work sessions and site walks are usually posted with the Town Clerk and a minimum of 48 hours' notice is given to the Commission members. The specific dates for the additional meetings are usually dependent upon when the greatest number of members are available to attend.

The commitment level of Commission members is lessened by having hired staff to assist with the day-to-day operations of the office. Public hearings usually run to approximately 9:00 PM, although it may be longer depending on the amount of hearings and the complexity of the applications. Many members serve as appointed members to other Town committees such as the Open Space Preservation Committee, Water Resource Management Committee, Walkup-Robinson Fund Committee, and Chapter 61A Study Committee. Commission members are also asked to comment and assist other Town departments/committees on various conservation-related topics during their three-year appointment.

Staff Contacts


Jennifer Miller

Conservation Director

(508) 366-3014

Leah Grigorov

Conservation Assistant

(508) 366-3014

Commission Members


Andrew Koenigsberg

Chair (2020)

Timothy Buckalew

Vice-Chair (2018)

Gary Kessler

Member (2018)

Stephanie Kelley

Member (2019)

Justin Lundberg

Member (2019)

Gerald Cushing

Member (2020)

Stephen Henry

Member (2022)